Ten candidates vie for Jocotepec mayor’s seat

Not unlike Chapala, the 2021 mayoral race in Jocotepec involves a large field of candidates, with ten political persuasions represented this year.

pg15bIncumbent Mayor José Miguel Gómez López is seeking reelection for a second three-year term, once again heading the Movimiento Ciudadano (MC) ticket.

Two women in the running are Rosalba Mejía Covarrubias for the Partido Revolucionario Institucional (PRI) and Lourdes Álvarez Cerna for debutante party Hagamos.

José Manuel Salcedo Orejeis is the candidate for the Partido Acción Nacional (PAN).   José Luis Ledezma Almeda will be on the ballot for the  Movimiento de Regeneración Nacional (Morena). Manola Haro Chacón is contending for the Verde Ecologista de México (PVEM) party. José Luisa Gaytán Aguayo is registered with Partido del Trabajo (PT).

Three candidates in the fray for newly formed political parties are Hugo García Vargas on the Futuro ticket, Javier Pérez Campos for Fuerza por México (FXM) and Francisco Cuevas representing Redes Sociales Progresistas (RSP).

There are no postulants registered for the Partido de la Revolución Democrática (PRD), Partido Encuentro Social (PES) and Somos Party.

Jalisco voters will go to the polls in all 125 municipalities on Sunday, June 6, to choose presidentes municipales (mayors), síndicos (legal counsels) and regidores (councilors) for the 2021-2024 term. They will also elect 38 representatives to serve in the LXIII State Congress and 30 legislators to take seats in the federal Chamber of Deputies.