01242022Mon
Last updateFri, 21 Jan 2022 10am

Advertising

rectangle placeholder

Mexico’s 2022 holidays calendar

With another year of unknowns regarding traditional Mexican festivities lying ahead in 2022, it’s impossible to predict what will transpire over the next 12 months.

Nonetheless, dates for the commemoration of the nation’s seven official national holidays and cherished traditional observances are practically etched in stone.  Here is a look at some special occasions to expect, including puentes (extended weekend breaks, marked with an asterisk*) and major vacation periods.  Under federal labor laws, salaried workers are granted a day off with regular pay on all Dias de Asueto (statutory holidays, highlighted in bold type). Employees who work on these dates are entitled to their full daily wages plus double time for the hours worked. Government offices, schools, financial institutions and some businesses close operations on these occasions. Some may also shut down for important celebrations in specific localities.

Saturday, January 1: Año Nuevo (New Year’s Day)

Monday, January 3: Jalisco schools resume classes, with online learning for the first two weeks of the month.

Thursday, January 6: Día de los Santos Reyes (Three Kings Day, Epiphany)

Wednesday, February 2: Día de la Candelaria (Candlemas, end of Christmas season)

Monday, February 7*: Aniversario de la Constitución (Commemoration of February 5, Constitution Day)

Thursday, February 24: Día de la Bandera (Mexican Flag Day)

Tuesday, March 1: Martes de Carnaval (Mardi Gras)

Wednesday, March 2: Miércoles de Ceniza (Ash Wednesday, Lent begins)

Sunday, March 20: Equinoccio de Primavera (Vernal Equinox, first day of spring)

Monday, March 21*: Natalicio de Juárez (Commemoration of the birth of Benito Juárez, 1806)

Sunday, April 3: Horario de Verano (Mexico Daylight Saving Time begins, move clocks forward one hour)

Sunday, April 10 to Saturday, April 16: Semana Santa (Holy Week). Banking institutions close Thursday and Friday. Schools closed April 11-24: for Easter holiday break

Sunday, April 17: Domingo de Pascua (Easter Sunday)

Monday, April 18 to Sunday, April 24: Semana de Pascua (Easter Week)

Saturday, April 30: Día del Niño (Childrens Day)

Sunday, May 1: Día del Trabajo (Labor Day)

Thursday, May 5: Cinco de Mayo (Commemoration Battle of Puebla, 1862)

Tuesday, May 10: Día de las Madres (Mexico’s Mothers Day)

Sunday, June 19: Día del Padre (Fathers Day)

Tuesday, June 21: Solticio de Verano (Summer Solstice, first day of summer)

Tuesday, September 13: Día de los Niños Héroes (Commemoration Heroic Defense of Chapultepec, 1847)

Thursday, September 15: Grito de Dolores (Cry of Independence, 1810)

Friday, September 16*: Día de la Independencia (Independence Day)

Friday, September 23: Equinoccio de Otoño (Autumn Equinox, first day of fall)

Wednesday, October 12: Día de la Raza (Columbus Day)

Wednesday, October 12: Romería de la Virgen de Zapopan  (Guadalajara-Zapopan Pilgrimage)

Sunday, October 30: Horario de Invierno (Mexico Daylight Saving Time ends, move clocks back one hour)

Tuesday, November 1: Día de todos los Santos (All Saints’ Day)

Wednesday, November 2: Día de los Muertos (All Souls’ Day)

Monday, November 21*: Día de la Revolución Mexicana (Commemoration of Revolution Day)

Monday December 12: Día de la Virgen de Guadalupe (feast of Mexico’s religious patroness)

Wednesday, December 21: Solticio de Invierno (Winter Soltice, first day of winter)

Saturday, December 24: Noche Buena (Christmas Eve)

Sunday, December 25: Navidad (Christmas Day)

Saturday, December 31: Año Viejo (New Year’s Eve)

No Comments Available