10182019Fri
Last updateFri, 18 Oct 2019 10am

May Festival offers music in churches & circus arts jamboree

Australia will be the invited country at this year’s 22nd Festival Cultural de Mayo, set for May 7 to 31 in metro area Guadalajara.

The major shows are scheduled at the Teatro Degollado (see listings facing page), but there are also free performances  in local churches. There are also free crisis arts performance’s in open-air spaces. Here are the programs.

MUSIC IN CHURCHES

Monday, May 13. A quartet from the Jalisco Philharmonic Orchestra at the Templo de Santa Teresa de Jesús (Morelos 525, Guadalajara Centro), 8 p.m.

Tuesday, May 14. The Zapopan Municipal Choir at the Templo de Santa Mónica (Reforma 409, Guadalajara Centro), 8 p.m.

Wednesday, May 22. The Orquesta de Cámara de Zapopan at the Parroquia de la Divina Providencia, 8 p.m.

Monday, May 27. The Orquesta Sinfónica Juvenil de Zapopan at the Parroquia del Calvario (Av. B 623, Colonia Seattle), 8 p.m.

Tuesday, May 28. The Universidad Panamericana Choir at the Templo Expiatorio (Enrique Diaz de Leon and Lopez Cotilla), 8 p.m.

CIRCUS ARTS PERFORMANCES

Friday, May 10. El Gurú and Fuoco di Strada at Explanada San Juan de Dios, 6 and 7 p.m.

Saturday, May 11. Andrés Aguilar at Tianguis Cultural, 11 a.m. El Gurú, Zarawato and Bravísimo, Andador Alcalde, 5-8 p.m.

Sunday, May 12. M8 Escena and Bruno el Pirata at Plaza Fundadores, 11 a.m. and noon. Cirko Alebrije at Parque Agua Azul, 4 p.m. Claunódromo at Plaza de los Magos, 4 p.m. and Plaza Liberación, 6 p.m. Luca Tresoldi at Plaza de los Magos, 5 p.m. and Plaza Liberación, 7 p.m.

Friday, May 17. Bravísimo at Explanada Teatro Degollado, 7:30 p.m.

ART EXHIBIT

The Instituto Cultural Cabañas hosts an exhibition of Aborigine art, with an opening set for Tuesday, May 7, 8:30 p.m.

No Comments Available