Last updateFri, 29 May 2020 1pm

State orchestra to offer season tickets in second season of 2019

For the first time in its history, the Orquesta Filarmónica de Jalisco (OFJ)  will offer abonos – special, early sales of seats for its entire five-concert season, set to begin June 6 and wrap up July 14.

On tap is music by Latin American, European, Canadian and American composers.

Luneta (the main floor of Teatro Degollado) seats sell for 1,000 pesos (about $US53) per person for the season of five concerts. The lowest priced season tickets are Palco Segundo, which go for 600 pesos.

Special features of these season tickets are reductions of the already economical ticket price and the ability to select one’s desired seat.

Abonos are available at these prices only when purchased in person at the Degollado box office, open Monday to Sunday 10 a.m.-3 p.m. and 4-8 p.m.

Season tickets may also purchased through Ticketmaster, either online, by phone or at outlets, but these carry a commission. Luneta seats, for example, cost 1,185 pesos (about $US62) per person for the season via Ticketmaster.

Tickets for individual concerts cost 90 to 250 pesos, bringing the cost for five Luneta tickets to 1,250 pesos, not much more expensive than a season ticket purchased through Ticketmaster, although one should keep in mind that some seats may be permanently unavailable if they have been sold to abono holders.

All five programs will be performed at Teatro Degollado this season, at 8:30 p.m. Thursdays and 12:30 p.m. Sundays. 

The season features the relatively new OFJ Director Jesús Medina conducting Programs 1, 3 and 5; and guest conductor Lanfranco Marcelletti of Brazil leading Programs 2 and Juan Carlos Lomónaco, conductor of the Symphony Orchestra of Yucatan, heading up Program 4.

Program 1, June 6 & 9

OFJ conductor Jesus Medina directs the OFJ and young Russian pianist Dmitry Masleev in one of Tchaikovsky’s best known piano concertos, “Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 1 in B-flat Minor Op. 23;” Ravel’s beloved arrangement of Mussorgsky’s “Cuadros de una exposición” (Pictures at an exhibition); and famed Mexican composer Jose Rolon’s “Festín de los Enanos” (Dwarves’ Party).

Program 2, June 20 & 23

Guest conductor Lanfranco Marcelletti (Brazil) directs the OFJ and its relatively new principal harpist, New Yorker Caroline Bembia, who performs Russian composer Reinhold Glière’s 1938 work, “Concerto for Harp and Orchestra in E-flat Major, Op. 74;” also on tap are Lara’s “Cuando caiga el silencio* (When silence falls); Claude Debussy’s “Preludio a la siesta de un fauno” (Prelude to the afternoon of a faun); and “Chôros No. 6” by 20th-century Brazilian composer Villa-Lobos.

Program 3, June 27 & 30

Jesus Medina directs the OFJ in an innovative program titled Cuarteto Latinoamericano (Latin American Quartet) in the world premier of “Corazon Azul” (Blue Heart) by prominent Latin American composer Juan Pablo Contreras, born in Guadalajara; Spanish-Cuban-American composer Julián Orbón de Soto’s “Concerto grosso para cuarteto de cuerdas y orquesta” (Big concerto for string quartet and orchestra); Samuel Zyman’s “Ríos y vertientes;” and Argentine classical composer Alberto Ginastera’s “Danzas del ballet Estancia” (Dances from the Ballet Estancia) which are several short, distinct agriculture-themed orchestral pieces played by a full orchestra on a multitude of instruments (piano, xylophone, etc.).

Program 4, July 4 & 7

Guest conductor Juan Carlos Lomónaco (Yucatan) directs the OFJ and pianist Santiago Lomelín in Chopin’s “Piano concerto No. 2 in F minor;” also on tap are 19th century Austrian operatic composer Franz von Suppé’s overture to the operetta “Poeta y Campesino” (Poet and Peasant); and Schubert’s majestic “Sinfonía No. 9, La grande” (Symphony No. 9, The Great), which, although considered long, was hailed by Robert Schumann for its “heavenly length.”

Program 5, July 11 & 14

Jesus Medina directs the OFJ and German-Canadian-American trumpet soloist and UCLA professor Jens Lindemann in what may be Haydn’s most popular concerto, “Concierto para trompeta y orquesta en mi bemol mayor” (Trumpet concerto in E-flat major); Also scheduled are Mozart’s “Sinfonía Núm. 35, Haffner” (Symphony No. 35—the Haffner Symphony), which began as a serenade for a nobleman; along with Aaron Copland’s one-movement symphony, “El Salon Mexico,” which uses strands of Mexican folk music; and Scottish-Canadian composer Allan Gilliland’s 2003 jazz concerto for clarinet and orchestra, “Dreaming of the Masters.”

For more information, call the Teatro Degollado box office at (33) 3615-4773. Call Ticketmaster at (33) 3818-3800 or see ticketmaster.com.mx.

No Comments Available