08072020Fri
Last updateFri, 31 Jul 2020 1pm

Democrats Abroad to stream all-day Earth Day program

On Wednesday, April 22 (EDT) Democrats Abroad Caucuses will stream on Zoom and Facebook Live a 16-hour program to celebrate the 50th anniversary of Earth Day.

pg6bA variety of guests and speakers will join the event throughout the day.

Starting at 5 a.m. Eastern time (4 a.m. Mexico) , DA member Naomi Ages will give a presentation about the Green New Deal. After her presentation, there will be a Q&A.

Ages was a senior political strategist with Greenpeace International. She advised a portfolio of projects on protecting democracy, international trade, and corporate accountability. She previously worked as a senior climate and energy campaigner at Greenpeace USA, leading work on achieving climate justice, and on domestic and international climate politics.

At 9 a.m. Eastern Time (8 a.m. Mexico), the short documentary “ROLLBACKS: An Assault Against Life on Earth” will be screened. The film is a sobering but hopeful wake-up call and a call to action. The impact of climate change – drought, intense tropical storms, wildfires, heatwaves, and sea-level rise – is undeniable, catastrophic, and happening now. After the screening, there will be a discussion and Q&A with the producers of the film.

Christiana Figueres will join at 11 a.m. Eastern Time (10 a.m. Mexico). Figueres is an internationally recognized leader in global climate change. She was executive secretary of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) 2010-2016. Assuming responsibility for the international climate change negotiations after the failed Copenhagen conference of 2009, she was determined to lead the process to a universally agreed regulatory framework. Building toward that goal, she directed the successful Conferences of the Parties in Cancun 2010, Durban 2011, Doha 2012, Warsaw 2013, and Lima 2014, and culminated her efforts in the historical Paris Agreement of 2015. Throughout her tenure, Figueres brought together national and sub-national governments, corporations and activists, financial institutions and communities of faith, think tanks and technology providers, NGOs and parliamentarians, to jointly deliver the unprecedented climate change agreement. For this achievement, Figueres has been credited with forging a new brand of collaborative diplomacy.

No Comments Available