Last updateFri, 18 Sep 2020 11am

General News

Mexico, US & Canada in Olympics soccer tourney

The 2020 CONCACAF Men’s Olympic Qualifying Championship, to determine which men’s under-23 national teams from the North, Central American and Caribbean region qualify for the 2020 Olympic Games soccer tournament, will be held in Guadalajara from March 20 to April 1.

Mexico, the United States and Canada will all participate in the eight-team tournament, which will be split into two groups in the first stage: Mexico, the United States, Costa Rica and the Dominican Republic in Group A and Honduras, Canada, El Salvador and Haiti in Group B.

The top two in each group will meet in the semi-finals. Both finalists will qualify for the 2020 Olympics in Tokyo, Japan.

Key first-round games:

United States-Costa Rica, Estadio Jalisco, Friday, March 20, 5 p.m.

Mexico-Dominican Republic, Estadio Jalisco, Friday, March 20, 7:30 p.m.

Canada-El Salvador, Estadio Jalisco, Saturday, March 21, 1:30 p.m.

United States-Dominican Republic, Estadio Akron, Monday, March 23, 5 p.m.

Mexico-Costa Rica, Estadio Akron, Monday, March 23, 7:30 p.m.

Canada-Haiti, Estadio Akron, Tuesday, March 24, 5 p.m.

Mexico-United States, Estadio Jalisco, Thursday, March 26, 9 p.m.

Canada-Honduras, Estadio Jalisco, Friday, March 27, 7:30 p.m.

The winner of Group A plays the runner-up of Group B at the Estadio Jalisco, Monday, March 30 5 p.m.; with the winner of Group B against the runner-up of Group B at 8 p.m.

The final is at the Estadio Akron on Wednesday, April 1, 8:30 p.m.

No Comments Available