Last updateFri, 13 Sep 2019 3pm
Expat Tax Service

Calendar for installation of new elected officials

Following Mexico’s July 1 election process, new government officials are being sworn into office on a sliding calendar.

September 1: Newly elected members of the dual chambers of the Congreso de la Unión were seated, with 218 senadores sworn in to the Senate for six year terms and 500 diputados beginning three-year terms in the lower house.

September 30: Presidentes municipales (mayors) and cabildos (councils) taking charge of 125 Jalisco municipalities will take the oath of office, initiating three-year terms the following day.

October 25: The swearing-in of 38 Jalisco diputados locales elected to three-year terms precedes the installation of the LXII Legislatura (State Congress) on November 1.

December 1: Andrés Manuel López Obrador will take the oath as Mexico’s president for the 2018-2024 term.

December 6: Enrique Alfaro Ramírez will be sworn in as Jalisco governor for a six-year period. Chief executives in six other states and Mexico City enter office on different dates spread out between September 26 and January 1.

No Comments Available