Last updateFri, 15 Jan 2021 2pm

Mexico’s 2021 national holidays

After weathering 12 months of topsy-turvy current events, it’s impossible to predict what will transpire during 2021.

Nonetheless, dates for the commemoration of Mexico’s official national holidays and cherished traditional observances are practically etched in stone.  Here is a look at some special occasions that lie ahead, including puentes (extended weekends marked with an asterisk*) and major vacation periods. Under federal labor laws, salaried workers are granted a day off with regular pay on all Dias de Asueto (statutory holidays highlighted in bold type). Employees who work on these dates are entitled to their full daily wages plus double time for the hours worked. Government offices, schools, financial institutions and some businesses close operations on these occasions. Some may also shut down for important celebrations in specific localities.

Friday, January 1: Año Nuevo (New Year’s Day)

Wednesday, January 6: Día de los Santos Reyes (Three Kings Day, Epiphany)

Monday, January 11: Schools resume classes after Christmas break.

Monday, February 1*: Aniversario de la Constitución (Commemoration of February 5, Constitution Day)

Tuesday, February 2: Día de la Candelaria (Candlemass, the end of Mexico’s Christmas season)

Wednesday, February 17: Miércoles de Ceniza (Ash Wednesday, beginning of Lent)

Wednesday, February 24: Día de la Bandera  (Flag Day)

Monday, March 15*: Natalicio de Juárez (Commemoration of the birth of Benito Juárez, March 21, 1806)

Saturday, March 20: Equinoccio de Primavera (Vernal Equinox, first day of spring)

Saturday, March 27 through Sunday, April 11: Easter holiday vacation period

Sunday, March 28: Domingo de Ramos (Palm Sunday, beginning of Holy Week)

Friday, April 2: Viernes Santo (Good Friday)

Sunday, April 4: Horario de Verano (Mexico Daylight Savings Time begins; move clocks forward one hour)

Sunday, April 4: Domingo de Resurrección (Easter Sunday)

Friday, April 30: Día del Niño (Children’s Day)

Saturday, May 1: Día del Trabajo (Labor Day)

Wednesday, May 5: Cinco de Mayo (Commemoration Battle of Puebla, 1862)

Monday, May 10: Día de las Madres (Mother’s Day in Mexico)

Sunday, June 20: Día del Padre (Father’s Day)

Monday, June 21: Solsticio de Verano (Summer Solstice, first day of Summer)

Saturday, July 10: Schools end academic year, summer break begins.

Saturday, August 28: Día del Adulto Mayor (Senior Citizens Day)

Monday, September 13: Día de los Niños Héroes (Heroic Defense of Chapultepec, 1847)

Tuesday, September 14: Día del Charro (Horseman’s Day)

Wednesday, September 15: Grito de Dolores (Cry of Independence, 1810)

Thursday, September 16: Día de la Independencia (Independence Day)

Wednesday, September 22: Equinoccio de Otoño (Autumn Equinox, first day of fall)

Tuesday, October 12: Día de la Raza (Columbus Day)

Tuesday, October 12: Romería de la Virgen de Zapopan  (Guadalajara-Zapopan Pilgrimage)

Sunday, October 31: Horario de Invierno (Mexico Daylight Savings Time ends, move clocks back one hour)

Monday, November 1: Día de todos los Santos  (All Saints’ Day)

Tuesday, November 2: Día de los Muertos  (All Souls’ Day)

Monday, November 15*: Día de la Revolución Mexicana (Commemoration of Revolution Day)

Sunday December 12: Día de la Virgen de Guadalupe (Mexico’s religious patroness) Tuesday, December 21: Solsticio de Invierno (Winter Soltice, first day of winter)

Friday, December 24: Noche Buena (Christmas Eve)

Saturday, December 25: Navidad (Christmas Day)

Friday, December 31: Año Viejo (New Year’s Eve)

No Comments Available