09182021Sat
Last updateFri, 17 Sep 2021 5am

Advertising

rectangle placeholder

General News

End the discriminatory chant, soccer bosses urge fans

In their boldest move yet to stamp out the homophobic chant used by Mexican futbol fans, soccer authorities in this country have changed the name of the upcoming Liga Mx season.

The six-month “Apertura” tournament – in which local teams Chivas and Atlas participate – will be known as Grita México A21 (Shout Mexico A21), as part of a far more rigorous effort to persuade fans to stop the discriminatory chant.

Recently, after several years of simply slapping Mexico with fines for the chant, the International Football Federation (FIFA) took harsher action, ordering the national team to play its next two home games behind closed doors, without any fans. The punishment seems to have shaken the Mexican Soccer Association, now fearful that FIFA might follow through on its threat to ban this country from international soccer competitions. With the qualifying tournament for the 2022 World Cup coming up in the fall, such a measure would be disastrous for a nation besotted by the round-ball game.

New season under way

The Grita México A21 season kicked off Thursday, and Chivas and Atlas are both in action this weekend. The Chivas open their campaign with a home game at the Akron Stadium against San Luis on Saturday, while Atlas are on the road to Pumas in Mexico City the following day.

Chivas home games (Estadio Akron):

Saturday, July 24, 9 p.m. vs. San Luis

Saturday, August 7, 9 p.m. vs. Juarez

Wednesday, August 18, 9 p.m. vs. Leon

Saturday, August 28, 5 p.m. vs. Necaxa

Saturday, September 18, 9 p.m. vs. Pachuca

Saturday, October 23, 7 p.m. vs. Atlas

Sunday, October 17, 5:30 p.m. vs. Toluca

Saturday, October 23, 9 p.m. vs. Cruz Azul

Atlas home games (Estadio Jalisco):

Saturday, July 31, 9 p.m. vs. Juarez

Sunday, August 15, 5 p.m. vs. America

Saturday, August 21, 5 p.m. vs. Toluca

Saturday, September 11, 5 p.m. vs Rayados

Saturday, September 25, 5 p.m. vs. Leon

Tuesday, September 28, 7 p.m. vs. Puebla

Tuesday, October 19, 9:05 p.m. vs. Cruz Azul

Thursday, October 28, 7 p.m. vs. Xolos

Thursday, November 4, 8 p.m. vs. Gallos

Ticket information is on the teams’ websites: chivasdecorazon.com.mx and atlasfc.com.mx.

No Comments Available