Last updateFri, 19 Jul 2024 12pm


rectangle placeholder

Full house applauds Little Theatre AGM

The 2024 Annual General Meeting of Lakeside Little Theatre (LLT) started on cue Wednesday, March 20 before a full house seated in front of the stage, and a few more dozen spilling out to the terrace to watch on video streaming.

pg15aThe main act was the election of the next LLT president, in a heated race between current second vice president and production manager Lynn Gutstadt and long-time active member Collette Clavadetscher.

Interim President Dave McIntosh, Treasurer Tom Gay and past President Peter Luciano conducted the meeting without melodrama or delay, with the requisite quorum met by 145 members registered at the door.

The suspension of a reading of the 2023 minutes was approved by a unanimous voice vote. Gay presented the financial report for the past 12 months. Summing up the numbers, he cited 1.5 million pesos showing in the black column, sufficient to comfortably wrap up this year’s season and open the curtains of the 60th Diamond season for Mexico’s oldest English-language theater. Income from patrons included the sale of 367 season tickets. Major expenses were payouts for new audio, video and lighting equipment.

pg15bMcIntosh followed with his report, noting that the last year was not without some controversy. He mentioned one critique that derogatorily labeled LLT “as a small community theater.” McIntosh rebutted, calling it an exceptional small community theater, driven by the membership. “We must give entrance to all who wish to participate,” he said.

Amanda Timmis, the unopposed candidate for secretary, and Clavadetsher and Gutstadt stepped on stage in turn for short monologues on their respective qualifications and visions for LLT’s future. Secret ballots were collected and taken for tally.

Meanwhile, members approved proposed revisions of the by-laws that included eliminating onerous provisions on financial oversights and corrections of typographical errors. The most interest focused on a rule to grant free membership to anyone volunteering at LLT in any capacity.

McIntosh and Luciano then pronounced Clavadetscher as the winner. Although they refused a request to reveal the vote count, the Reporter ascertained that the difference bordered on a tie.

No Comments Available