Last updateFri, 23 Jul 2021 9am

Ajijic’s Magic Town committee up & running

Led by officials from Jalisco’s Tourism Department (Seturjal), Ajijic’s Pueblo Mágico Citizens Committee was formally installed on Monday, July 5.

pg7bThe committee is composed of 11 local representatives from the civic and business sector, plus two places for state and municipal authorities.  Seturjal selected the members from 25 individuals who had submitted applications.

Alejandro Sahagún, the proprietor of El Original Tony’s Restaurant in San Antonio Tlayacapan and current vice president of the Ribera de Chapala Restaurateurs Union (RUA), was voted in as committee president. The rest of the chosen few and their respective representation categories are: Antonio López Vega (artists), Citlalli Morales (artisans), Rafael Escamilla (social activism), Karla Terríquez (environmental activism), Steve Balfour (expatriate residents), León Felipe Muñoz (academics), Mauricio Vázquez Higuera (commerce), Alejandro Hernández (private business initiative) and José Manuel González (hoteliers).

The government reps are Mónica Venegas, Seturjal’s director of rural tourism and Pueblos Mágicos, and Chapala Mayor Moisés Anaya, who will serve until his term of office ends in September.

The committee will act as an advisory board for projects and programs that will be developed in conjunction with Ajijic’s magic town status.

Please login or subscribe to view the complete article.

No Comments Available


disclaimer no affiliate