Last updateFri, 19 Jul 2024 12pm


rectangle placeholder

Candidates hustle in final stretch of campaigns

Candidates vying for offices at all three levels of government in Mexico’s June 2 elections are out stumping in full force before a veda (suspension) on campaign activities takes effect on May 30.

The three-day moratorium is deemed a period of reflection for voters to make up their minds before going to the polls to cast their ballots.

Lakeside residents will see and hear boisterous campaign avanzadas (street marches) and rallies going on every day right up to the veda deadline.

Besides electing the country’s next president, voters will also renew the 628 seats of the bicameral federal Congress, eight state governorships and the Mexico City mayor’s seat, as well as more than 20,000 local offices.


Candidates for president are Claudia Sheinbaum running on the ticket of the ruling National Regeneration Movement (Morena) together with Partido del Trabajo (PT) and Partido Verde Ecologista de México (PVEM) forming the Sigamos Haciendo Historía coalition; Xóchitl Gálvez representing the Partido Acción Nacional (PAN), Partido Revolucionario Institucional (PRI) and Partido de la Revolución Democrática (PRD) in the Fuerza y Corazón por México coalition; and Jorge Álvarez Máynez going solo for the Movimiento Ciudadano (MC). The winner will assume the presidency on Tuesday, October 1, slated as a national holiday.

Jalisco voters will also elect a new governor for a six-year term starting on December 6. The candidates are Pablo Lemus Navarro running for MC as the successor to Enrique Alfaro;  Claudia Delgadillo González standing for Morena, PVEM, PT, Hagamos and Futuro; and Laura Haro representing the PAN-PRI-PRD alliance.

pg7cThey will likewise choose 38 state legislators from 20 electoral districts to sit in the LXIV Congress, along with 125 presidentes municipales (mayors) and members of their respective city councils, all to serve for three-year terms. New mayors will be sworn in on September 30 while legislators take office on October 25.

Chapala’s five mayoral contenders are Alejandro Aguirre Curiel, running for reelection on behalf of the Fuerza y Corazón coalition; Issac Trejo Gracián for MC; Juan de Dios “Bebo” García Velasco for Morena; Juliàn Ortíz Urciaga for Futuro; Celina Guadalupe “Lupita” Cevallos Gámez for PVEM; and María de los Angeles Zavala Ortega for Hagamos.

A debate among the candidates requested by Trejo was scheduled by election authorities for May 19. The event was canceled after all but three contenders declined the invitation.


Jocotepec’s field of candidates for presidente municipal includes Salvador Flores López, independent; Hugo “Bombin” García Vargas for Futuro; Dolores “Lolis” López Jara, MC; and Fabián Olmedo Navarro, coalition Fuerza y Corazón.

A military convoy delivered the supply of 334,843 ballots for the presidential race and equal amounts for electing senators and federal deputies to District 17 headquarters of the Instituto Nacional Electoral (INE) in Jocotepec on May 14.

No Comments Available