Last updateFri, 19 Jul 2024 12pm


rectangle placeholder

Who’s who on new Chapala council

After finalizing the June 2 election results, Jalisco’s Electoral Institute (IEPC) issued the list of candidates who qualified for seats on the Chapala Cabildo (City Council) in the 2024-2026 administration.

pg11bThe municipality’s ruling body will comprise seven women and seven men, with proportional representation of the four political tickets that garnered the most votes.

As the winner in the race for presidente municipal, Alejandro Aguirre Curiel will head the Cabildo. Also to be seated in representation of the PAN-PRI-PRD coalition Fuerza y Corazón por Jalisco are María Eugenia Ochoa Real, José Manuel Gutiérrez Gálvez, Rubén Salcedo Díaz, Andrea Patricia Márquez Pineda, Guillermo Heredia Márquez, Goreti Elizabeth González Sánchez, J. Jesús Álvarez Razo as regidores (councilors), and Lilia Alvarardo Macias  as síndica (solicitor).

Runner-up Juan de Dios “Bebo” García Velasco, along with Brisa Jasmín Medina Flores and Celso Nava Aldana, gained seats as councilors for Morena.

Based on the principle of gender equality, Karla Montserrat García García and Yazmín Alejandra Angel Orozco will represent Movimiento Ciudadano (MC) and Futuro respectively.

No Comments Available